ECO Standards

Standards and Initiatives

TCO Certified  

TCO Certified is the leading independent sustainability certification for IT products. With life cycle criteria for social and environmental responsibility, TCO Certified helps organizations around the world make more sustainable IT choices. TCO Certified is a Type 1 Ecolabel in accordance with ISO 14024. All certified product models and their manufacturing facilities are independently verified for compliance by ISO/IEC 17025 accredited bodies.

TCO Certified products are verified to meet leading criteria in all life cycle phases: from manufacturing, to use to end of life. Criteria include socially responsible manufacturing, environment as well as ergonomic design and usability. 

NEC projectors NP215 andNP410 were the first to achieve TCO Certified in the product category. With our continued commitment to sustainable innovation, the majority of our existing and new projectors meet TCO Certified. 

  TCO Certified Edge

For best in class products, TCO Certified Edge offers additional recognition for leading edge performance in one of a select criteria group, such as energy efficiency, usability or use of recycled materials. TCO Certified Edge is a supplemental certification intended for products that are at the forefront of IT and sustainability.

Every TCO Certified Edge product meets the requirements of both TCO Certified for its product category and at least one of the additional TCO Certified Edge criteria. NEC products meet the qualifying criteria for full function ergonomic display stand.

Energy Star 6.0  

Energy Star is an international standard for energy efficient consumer products. The New Energy Star 6.0 from June 2013 has requirements for power management to limit power usage with On-Mode, and after 15 minutes of no activity automatic activation of sleep or off modes. The new Energy Star standard also seeks to harmonize with the requirements of the European RoHS (restriction of hazardous substances) regulations. The majority of NEC products launched before June 2013 have been certified with Energy Star 5.0, with the latest products now conforming to Energy Star 6.0.